August 6th

Sunday, August 6th, 2017

This image wasn’t taken by me (my husband actually caught this of me in the barn today), but I felt it was a good opportunity to share my story and my thanks.

My husband and I live a pretty unconventional life. As a pilot, he’s gone a majority of the month; and when I say gone, I mean gone. He leaves for the airport, and doesn’t come back for four, maybe five days depending on the trip. He commutes to Detroit to work, commutes home. Then he’s home for two days, three if he’s lucky, and then we do it all over again. This means it’s not a standard week day job; weekends, holidays, Wednesdays – everything is fair game. Each month brings a different schedule, and it’s impossible to plan anything more than two weeks out. However, when he’s home, he’s home. He hangs up the uniform and we can live life as normal for a couple of days.

That is one of the many reasons why A Borrowed Likeness is an essential part of who I am. When I worked a standard 9-5 job, balancing his schedule and mine was a challenge. He was home when I wasn’t, I was home when he wasn’t. The only time we spent time together was two nights a week when we were sleeping. Our marriage suffered, we became frustrated with work, resenting it. I have always struggled with depression and anxiety, and at that time it became overpowering, a daily struggle, and my joy slowly diminished. The life that society told us was “normal” wasn’t working for us. As a Christian, my faith wavered. Was my life destined to be this way? I had always wanted to own my own business, but it seemed so out of reach. We were stuck in the continual cycle of societal expectations and myths about what it meant to be successful – I was a woman, a young woman actually, and what did I know about making a go of this financially and professionally.

Time continued to passed, I pushed on. I prayed and prayed and planned and Paul supported me every step of the way.

On January 1st of 2016, A Borrowed Likeness, LLC was born, and our life changed. It flourished.

Owning my own business allows me to make my own rules – if I need to take days off in the middle of the week because my husband is home, I do. If I need to put in hours on a Saturday night because there are things on my to-do list, I buckle down. Owning my own business allows me to photograph at any time of the day, and take advantages of any opportunity no matter what the day or time. I get to meet people like you, collaborate with fellow artists, and share my art 24/7. It provides me freedom and security; drive, passion, joy, but most of all: purpose.

My business is possible because of your support, and for you I am SO grateful. Whether or not you choose to invest in a print, I feel your support in so many other ways. Anytime you read this blog, “like” an image on Instagram, “share” a post on Facebook, pass along sweet, encouraging words, visit me at an art show or gallery opening, your actions are powerful and full of encouragement. YOU help spread the word, YOU help make this crazy dream and life possible.

“A Rising Tide Lifts All Boats.” When you choose to invest your precious money in a small business, mine or not, you support a local family and in turn the local economy. This is why I have become a member of the Hennepin County “Adopt A Highway” program and tithe 10% of my yearly profit; I want to return a portion of the communities’ generous support of my business into other worthy local causes. Kindness and encouragement is contagious, and I want to be a strong link in that chain.

So on that note, thank you for visiting my blog, for reading this post, and thank you for your support. I appreciate every single one of you! If you have a local business or budding dream, reach out to me so I can follow along with your journey – I’d love to cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

