July 1st

Saturday, July 1st, 2017

I know today’s image isn’t a happy one, but it was a fascinating one for me.

I love hummingbirds; we have a feeder at our house out in front of our porch, and I love sitting there and watching them visit. I have actually been trying to photograph them all summer, but have been unsuccessful. I didn’t think I’d capture one this way.

Photographing a dead hummingbird is not normally the course of action someone takes, I understand that. I received a lot of flack from my family for taking this picture in fact. However, I had never had the opportunity to see one so close, and my curiosity got the best of me.

Did you know that the Ruby-Throated Hummingbird is the smallest hummingbird breed in Minnesota? I thought that it would be best illustrated by human comparison. Had this hummingbird been alive, it could have easily perched on the tip of Paul’s finger.

We found him on our dock at the cabin. He was soaked through. We aren’t sure what happened to him; our best guess was that he attempted to fly during rain and was swamped. If anyone out there is well-versed I’m hummingbirds, I would love to hear your input!

Leave a Reply

