June 13th

Tuesday, June 13th, 2017

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Phillipians 4:6-7

Today’s story has nothing to do with today’s image, but that’s the kind of day it’s been.

So many things have happened in my life that are so much more than coincidence. This weekend, today especially, was an excellent reminder of that.

On Friday, I woke up from an awful dream. Burke had died, and it was a slow, painful death. Not only was it upsetting, but haunting ; every time I’ve had a dream about a pet dying, they’ve died. CUE THE FREAK OUT. So I jump out of bed, and sure enough, Burke is showing signs of distress. Not interested in food, pushing his belly into the floor, lethargic. Burke gets sick a lot, so I’m fairly practiced in “emergency” procedures for him. I mixed up a batch of critical care (emergency food) and suringe-fed him some. Every two hours I’d fill the suringe and start again.

Bunnies can’t throw up, so when anything gastrointestinal happens, it turns critical pretty quickly. Their digestive system needs a constant stream of food to keep it moving, so when they aren’t feeling good and stop eating, it’s a downward spiral.

Eventually by the end of the day he was picking through his food on his own, so I was starting to feel better. Saturday I woke up and he was still average – not totally himself, but he didn’t seem to be as uncomfortable. Sunday, same thing. Yesterday, same thing.

This pattern was not a good one – I could tell I needed to make a decision on what next step to take, but I didn’t know what to do. Burke doesn’t do well on car rides, so I was afraid that taking him to the vet would push his little system over the edge. Rabbits also don’t live very long – even at six years old, he’s considered a senior rabbit. What if this was his way of trying to let go and I was just prolonging it?

So last night I had a long chat with God. “Help show me what I need to do,” I begged, “I trust you, just show me the next step.”

This morning, my sister Stephanie called me. Her rabbit also wasn’t feeling well, so she was headed to the vet; “Can you come with me?” So she picked me up and off we went. Stephanie was explaining Dwight’s symptoms to the technician, and so many of the symptoms were the same as Burkes. They did a urine analysis, and she (yes, we learned Dwight is a she!) had a urinary tract infection. I pulled the vet aside and asked her about Burke’s symptoms. She said that I should bring him in, and made time to see me this afternoon.

Same song and dance, sure enough, Burke also had a urinary tract infection, making him uncomfortable, meaning he wasn’t eating. She prescribed some meds and home we went. Twenty minutes after giving him his pain meds, he was a totally different rabbit.

We’ll see what tomorrow brings, but I know I’ll sleep better tonight with a heart FULL of thanksgiving.

“Trust in the Lord with all of your heart…”

Leave a Reply

