May 20th

Saturday, May 20th, 2017

My mother in law sent me this verse today, and I thought it very fitting for today: “He who trusts in the Lord will prosper ” (Proverbs 28:25).

Why is this fitting? For a couple reasons. First is that Paul is in Salt Lake City taking his final 3 hour Captain oral exam and 2 hour simulator as I write this, and I’ve been praying all morning. Not to be dramatic, but after four weeks of training and being away from home, it all comes down to this. I have no doubts that Paul will rock it, but we’ll all be happy to move forward and start living life again.

Second reason is that earlier this spring, after lots of prayer and quiet contemplation, I made the choice to not pursue art shows this summer to focus on getting my work into local galleries and businesses. Today would have been my first show of the season, but instead I spent my morning at the Maple Grove Arts Center to finish hanging my pieces.  The kicker? The show I would’ve been at was shut down early, after only two hours in, because of the rain. What a humbling example of obedience over hustle.

After setup this morning, I took time to photograph a few of my pieces at the center. In the picture of the main entrance above, I have three metal prints pictured: two over the stairs and one over the “R”.

I’ll make sure to post an update when I hear from Paul this evening!

**Update: Paul passed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

