May 10th

Wednesday, May 10th, 2017

Blooms are my favorite part of spring.

I was concerned while I was in Atlanta that I would miss the blooms entirely, so I was thrilled when I got home and they were just beginning to open.

I walked up to these trees today and it was an assault on the senses. The sight was obviously beautiful, the smell was wonderful, and the sound of the bees buzzing was reassuring. With both of our hives failing last fall, I was happy to see so many honey bees taking advantage of the blooms. Their pollen sacs were full!

After having the hives last year, I have a whole new respect for bees. I used to fear them until we had our colonies and watched them in their hives. After being that close and personal, it’s easy to understood how little they really care about humans unless their hive is threatened. I stood under the tree today and watched them move from flower to flower and really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

