January 27th

Friday, January 27th, 2017

“I cannot imagine where I would be today were it not for that handful of friends who have given me a heart full of joy.” -Charles R. Swindoll

She will more than likely kill me when she sees that I posted this image – when I asked yesterday if I could photograph her, she responded that she needed at least a half hour notice to shower. So naturally, while she was elbow deep on a work call this morning, I took advantage of her distraction and photographed her.

This woman is the most amazing friend. I was telling someone about her last week, and they said to me “I wish I had a friend like that.” Living long distance for the majority of our friendship, we’ve known our ups and downs, our droughts and floods.

Our beginning was rocky – “frien-ameies” we call it. Competeing for a royalty position in our saddle club as eight-year-olds put our competitive spirits to the test right from the get-go. After I won (😉), we parted ways, and somehow we reconvened at a later time (we don’t remember specifics), but we became the best of friends. From then on we shared confidences, life experiences, and a whole lotta love. Cabin trips, horse shows, and many many sleep overs, led to her leaving the state to go to college, and we only were able to see each other a couple of times a year. But that only made our friendship that much more special. When Paul and I got married, she was my maid of honor. She took time and money to fly back and forth and didn’t miss a single shower, party, or event that a wedding brings. She was my rock, and I could never thank her enough for how wonderful she made that time of my life.

I could write all day why I love her and truly treasure her as a friend, but I’ll let that lie. Bottom line: Kya, I love and treasure you and our friendship. Thank you for being my very best friend, and always being there. You are an amazing, beautiful soul and I am thankful for all of the light and joy you’ve brought to my life. I love you!

Leave a Reply

