January 19th

Thursday, January 19th, 2017

Well, I claim to be a bunny-mom, but you haven’t seen any proof yet. So meet Burke! My five year old, four pound, fluffy ball of sass. He rules the roost at our house and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

I grew up with a myriad of animals on the farm, but never rabbits. But in college, I wasn’t interested in the commitment of a dog and my roommate wasn’t a fan of cats, so I did my research and went out in search of a rabbit. At ten weeks old, he fit into my life perfectly, and it’s almost unbelievable to me that he’s five already.

Burke has a cage (read: mansion) that he stays in overnight, and when Paul and I aren’t home. As he’s litterbox trained, when we’re home he does wander the house (he loves the stairs!). Rabbits are  corpuscular, meaning they are most active at dawn and dusk, and so in turn he naps a lot during the day. This time of year the sun shines directly through our south-facing windows, and in that sunshine is his favorite place to nap. I tried to be sneaky and catch him sleeping, but his hearing is impeccable and caught me stalking him!

Leave a Reply

